Faculty Awards Honor Cancer Center Members

University of Illinois Cancer Center members are among the recipients of the 2022 University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) Researcher, Scholar and Inventor of the Year awards.

The awards recognize and celebrate the efforts and commitment of individuals who advance knowledge as well as inspire and promote continued excellence in research and scholarship at UIC, according to the announcement from Vice Chancellor for Research Joanna Groden, PhD, and the Office of Technology Management. The honorees were selected from among a “wealth of compelling nominations” from the campus community.

Distinguished Researcher and Distinguished Scholar awards were given to five UIC faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in their respective fields of expertise, including Cancer Center members Krista Varady, PhD, in Clinical Sciences, and Eben Alsberg, PhD, in Natural Sciences and Engineering.

Seven UIC early career researchers who have shown outstanding promise to become future leaders in their field received Rising Star awards, including Cancer Center member Yu (Tom) Gao, PhD, in Basic Life Sciences.

Varady, part of the Cancer Center’s Cancer Prevention and Control research program, is a Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and Nutrition at the College of Applied Health Sciences.

Part of the Cancer Center’s Cancer Biology research program, Alsberg is the Richard Loan Hill Chair in the departments of Biomedical Engineering, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, Pharmacology and Regenerative Medicine, and Orthopaedic Surgery at the colleges of Engineering and Medicine.

Gao, part of the Cancer Center’s Translational Oncology research program, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the College of Pharmacy.

Congratulations to all the honorees!

Translate »